top of page
  • Writer's pictureYasmin Amir Hamzah

Recording Pros

Despite my Composition Woes, a positive of this week that I was able to record some Foley that would be used in-game. I took the inspiration for these recordings from an asset list that I was given by the games team, trying to emulate the vision that they had for these sounds as best I could.

audio asset list for 'Covert Carbs'

The things that I tackled over my long weekend were the Bin, Shrub, and Rubbish Ruffles. I captured these sounds using a Zoom H4n Handy Recorder, being introduced to the Zoom family a few weeks prior. I found that I really enjoyed the handy recorders because of how portable they are. I could easily take it around my family home and record actions as they would sound in real life - even if I did look a little funny to my neighbours shuffling around in the bushes...

Something that I was not expecting was how sensitive the microphone on the Zoom was! I could hear family members in the next rooms moving around, and the birds and cars in the distance. It was also a fairly windy day, so the tracks I had contained some low frequency rumbles. I altered this by editing the tracks in Pro Tools, using equaliser plug-ins to filter out the ranges where the distortion was most noticeable, which ended up being in the mid-ranges, with some tracks also needing the lower-end frequencies taken out as well.



I like that I am delving further into the world of sound effects and learning how to make a virtual world seem more realistic.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project II Post Mortem!

The end of a second major project this trimester, and this one has by far been the most enjoyable and organised challenges I have tackled...

Comments


bottom of page