top of page
  • Writer's pictureYasmin Amir Hamzah

INSIDE the next step

Updated: Feb 22, 2018

So, now that we had a direction for a project, we had to take the first steps into making our idea a reality. Our first step was to conduct research about the game we were wanting to create around. What are its influences, how were creative decisions made? And furthermore, what did we want our own project to be influenced by? Would we create something similar to the exisiting soundtrack, or something completely different? Thinking of what I wanted to achieve for this project, I was reminded of a video game I had once played - Naughty Dog's 'The Last of Us' (2013). Aside from being blown away by the amount of plot depth and character development, something i had rarely seen in video games prior, I was also amazed at the soundtrack work of Gustavo Santaolalla, particularly in the way that I felt it made me more involved in the story and relationships of the game.


This is the influence that I wished to draw into my own project, and so I chose a track from the album (the opening song, 'The Quarantine Zone (20 Years Later))', and began analysing it for both a critical and aesthetic breakdown.


By mapping out the structure of the song, I was able to deconstruct the structure and arrangement of the piece, as well as discuss the instrumental elements and the background influences surrounding this project.


If you would like to read my teardown of this track, click here.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page