top of page
  • Writer's pictureYasmin Amir Hamzah

Games Collab | Part IV | More 'Oomph' Please

A week after finding my team and hashing out the details of the interactive music video project, the team and I have had a few days to lay some ground work and to start making some solid foundations for the project.


For the games team, this meant starting to design the flight system we had talked about earlier, and starting to design pieces of the landscape such as trees and rivers.

Over the past week the thing that they had focused on the most was also the 'main character' of the game, our bird. We had many discussions over how fast or slow the bird should move, how it should turn, how close it should be to the camera, etc. These kinds of chats made me realise how important constant communication is within a project - my brain had just assumed that when I talked about my project, people would automatically see every detail as I imagined it (which of course, they wouldn't).


For myself, the composer, this week meant revisiting my track, as the discussions from last week made me realise that my piece needs to be more dynamic and more 'story-like'.

I did this by going back to the section of the composition that has the most instrumentation and the most things 'going on' and made it 'bigger' and more exciting, adding a larger and more distinctive melody and composing a build up and build down around the climax of the track.

The new melody is mainly centred around semiquaver runs, using quick-paced sequences and a call and response structure to emulate the idea or feeling of 'busyness', so that it will compliment the visuals at this part of the game, which will feature numerous flocks of birds joining our main character in flight before he reaches his homing tree. I also added a piano line to give the piece more variety.


The same section of my composition before and after my changes can be seen below~


This is now the most current version of my track~


6 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page