top of page
  • Writer's pictureYasmin Amir Hamzah

Games Collab | Part II | The Composition!

After a week, I have done the first draft of my composition for the games collaboration. It features harp and violin chords as the foundation for the track, and a flute and clarinet as the melody. The end is signified by a change in instruments and having a cello take over the melody.


This trimester, I have been going to an extra-curricular class that focuses on music theory. I find these classes very beneficial and I go to them in the hopes that my composition skills will improve as a result. I have been trying to implicate what I have been learning by first choosing a key before writing any notes, and also by first writing chords within this key before writing any melodies. By following this structure, I save a lot of time trying to figure out what sounds good, instead using my brain to logically use what works together. This song was written in the key of B Major (major because I wanted it to sound uplifting). To hear the track so far, click on the link below!





Tomorrow I will pitch this track to a team of game designers, and see if anyone would like to collaborate on this project with me.

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page